Jennifleur – photographing the bronze

The bronze of ‘Jennifleur’ is finally ready. Time to turn the studio into a photography studio. There is quite an art to snapping sculpture – I am still learning what to do and what not to do. Essentials are: no flash, plain background, plenty of time and knowing how to use your camera. Pity I haven’t quite mastered the latter. I always do the photographing in several sessions. This means there is time to review photos and re-shoot the following day if necessary. I am finding that the lighting I have is too poor for the relatively dark bronze. I end up with the bright lights on, removing some of the more interesting shadows. But these will have to do for now. Using Photoshop Elements I edit the background to black, for more contrast. My resolutions? Buy a new camera, learn how to use it and learn how to use Photoshop. Then take some more photos of ‘Jennifleur’.

http://www.hazelreeves.com

  Jen PE for WP 3 Jen PE for WP 1 Jen PE for WP 2

2 thoughts on “Jennifleur – photographing the bronze

  1. Wow! What can I say? Hazel, you have been an absolutely pleasure to work with and when I say work, I mean work. All those coffees and mince pies, high percentage dark chocolate and the occasional satsuma… It was hard going. As for striking the pose, I only put my back out once and that was because apparently I am not as young as I used to be and indeed less flexible. However, me thinking I could hold a full arabesque was nothing short of amusing!
    I have now had the great unveiling of Jennifleur who is at present gracing the sideboard in my sitting room, sporting a sumptuous green flecked scarf and designer sunglasses. I have alreay had my fingers rapped for being a tad disrespectful but what can I say? I have children! And, I must confess, Jennifleur looks simply gorgeous. For me it feels rather strange seeing this amazing piece of art which personifies succinct creativity, artistic prowess and excessive understanding of the subject, which also happens to be me.
    Both of my sisters are professional artists but sadly they snaffled all the arty genes on offer. I was left with none but thank goodness I can appreciate art. Hazel, you are a wonderful sister and a truly gifted sculptor and before I reach for a bucket, will simply say a final thank you.

  2. You are a funny woman. But you say the nicest of things. I am really touched by your kind words. I have such fond memories of our time in the studio together. You were such an elegant, patient, generous and fun sitter. We laughed so much. We ate so much. We must do it all again some time. I forgive your irreverence – I think the sunglasses and scarf add a certain je ne sais pas. Hazel x

Leave a Reply

