Sculpting at Dorich House – postscript 1

My last glimpse of the snow-covered Dorich House is in my rear view mirror as I make for home. Sad to be leaving, but pleased to be on my way before dark. As I close-in on Brighton, the snow becomes heavier. No chance of unloading at the studio. The roads will be un-passable en route to Billingshurst. And I can’t risk the sculptures getting snowed-in. My trip to the foundry is in just a few days time.  Rather nerve-wracking to unload the three Mercy sculptures. Will I slip on the snow and ice? Such relief when they are all safely in my kitchen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Over the next few days I spend happy hours in the warmth of my kitchen working on  Mercy I, II and III.  My final Mercy sculpture, takes  most of the time. The last sitting – with the wonderful art reportagist Mercy Kagia – was curtailed due to snow. Normally I only sculpt from life, but there is still work to be done. Mercy needs to get back to her Phd. I need to work on other projects. So the offer of another day at Dorich House has to be turned down, sadly. Reference photos are taken.

Here is Mercy, on the morning I load her into the car for a trip to the Docklands, to Bronze Age Sculpture Casting Foundry.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

